Favorite Beauty Products for Spring

I wanted to show you what I’ve been wearing on my face on a fairly regular basis the last several weeks. I find that I’m reaching for these products quite a bit these days.

Beauty Favorites for Spring 2013

Here’s what interesting about these products to me. I have a ton of products that are similar to these. I must have 5 bronzers, 9 blushes, 11 mascaras, 3 pressed powders, 8 concealers, and 12-15 black pencil eye liners. These are the ones I reach for the most. I do use the others, but when I’m pressed for time, these are the ones I know I can trust for a quick look.

I started using the Exuviance Age Reverse Day Repair SPF 30 in mid January. I love this stuff. It helps counter act hyper-pigmentation while it fends off free radicals and boosts collagen. I also love that as the product dispenses, no air enters the tube, keeping the product factory perfect. The tube just collapses on itself. Perfect to the last drop.

I usually skip foundation in spring and summer, and just dot this Tarte concealer where I need it. (under eye area, corners of my nose, hyper-pigmentation spots) This is my favorite. Out of all the many I’ve tried (including Benefit’s new Fake Up) nothing works as well as this. I also love that it doesn’t settle in the crinkles under my eyes.

Lancome Dual Finish Versatile Powder is great to have in my makeup collection. I use it mainly as a quick topping to my face with a brush for a soft focus look. It sets my concealer and gives my skin a bit of sheer coverage. You can also use it with a damp sponge for full coverage as a foundation. I haven’t tried it yet, but I might come fall.

Eye liner is tricky territory with me. I have greasy eyes, and even some waterproof eyeliners can become a mess. Add an eye cream, and it’s a loosing battle. As a 38-year-old, I need an eye cream. I have found that tight lining is the best way for me to define my eyes on a daily basis. I love to use Smashbox’s Jetset cream liner, but when I don’t have time for a brush, and precision, I just grab for my favorite waterproof pencil. Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes is amazing. It’s truly the best. I like it better than Stila’s Smudge Sticks and Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil. (both are waterproof)

I’ve been on a mascara binge recently. I have 4 full size tubes of Lancome mascara, some Benefit, Make Up Forever, Clinique, and 4 faves from the drugstore. The one I can’t stop using is Cover Girl’s Clump Crusher. I have one at home in my collection, and one in my purse in my just-in-case makeup bag. Love this stuff!

I was late getting on the Mabelline Dream Bouncy Blush band wagon. I just picked some up at the beginning of this year, and I love the peachy color I got. I also love how easily it blends with just my fingers. It feels idiot proof. I say that because when I’m in a hurry, I can be sloppy. This is the perfect brush free blush for fast times.

Bronzer has been a scary cosmetic item for me for years. I say this because I’m really pale. So pale, that some high-end makeup counters don’t have a good foundation or concealer match for my skin tone. They’re too dark or too pink. I was always worried that bronzer would make me look orange, or like an Oompa Loompa. I realized that bronzer on my light skin was all about application. Using a light hand, and using a matte bronzer was what I needed. Revlon PhotoReady Bronzer is my favorite right now.

I have way too many lipsticks. Every spring I’m looking to update my look and go on a hunt for something new. This isn’t a new product, but when the Clinique Chubby Stick Intense came out, I got winter colors. Now that it’s spring, I needed something with a bit more punch. This is the perfect  bright pink for spring and summer. I’m sure it’s perfect all year long, but it’s just what I was looking for to wake up my face for spring. It’s called Plushest Punch.

Tell me what you’re wearing every day on your face. Do you have a beauty favorite? Is there one product you can’t leave the house without?

Leave a Reply

