Lipsticks and Glosses Part 3: Reds

I’ve been waiting for this post. I won’t lie, my favorite shade of lipstick is red. I have many other shades, but when I want to feel strong and beautiful, I reach for a red. I love that anyone can wear red. I know that many women are afraid of red, they think it’s off-limits because it’s so intense. Don’t ever think that you can’t wear it. There is a shade for everyone, you just have to find it.

Most of these are reds, but there is one non-red in the bunch. I decided this was the closest place to group it with.

Bite Beauty Creme Lipstick in Cin-Cin

Bite Beauty Creme Lipstick in Cin-Cin

Here’s that one odd-ball. It’s not really an odd-ball, but a non-red. I think if falls well into a bold lip category. It’s a beautiful terracotta color from Bite Beauty called Cin-Cin. What I love about this color is that it’s very versatile. It wears well with so many colors. Clothes, makeup, just about anything I pair with it I love it. It’s a soft, creamy lipstick that’s fully opaque. It lasts for several hours without need of reapplying. I love the Bite Beauty Lipsticks. I’ll be getting a few more.

Ilia Lipstick in Arabian Knights

Ilia Lipstick in Arabian Knights

I picked this Ilia lipstick up in November while I was on vacation. I found this adorable boutique called Preen Apothecary that carried high-end makeup, beautiful accessories, and housewares. What I love about this lipstick is that it’s as much a lip conditioner as a lip color. It’s very hydrating. The more you swipe the lip bullet over your lips, the more sheer color you build. It also ends up as a bit of a stain when it wears of. I like this if I manage to have most of it come off during a meal. I know I’ll still have a stain of color left on my lips.

Be a Bombshell Lipgloss in Hot Mess

Be a Bombshell Lip Gloss in Hot Mess

A friend of mine signed me up for My Glam Bag from ipsy.com as a Christmas gift. My December bag was my first, and this lip gloss from Be a Bombshell in Hot Mess was in there. It’s a true red gloss with lots of shine. It is a bit sticky, but that depends on how much you layer on. I also found that it does best when I wear a lip liner with it. I like this one from Lipstick Queen. It keeps it from feathering outside my lip line, and doesn’t alter the color of the gloss. For all of the pictures in these lip posts, I only wore the lip color. No lip balm, no lip liner, just the color I was photographing for you.

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Mightiest Maraschino

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in Mightiest Maraschino

I love, love, love this new line of Chubby Stick Intense from Clinique! I especially adore this red. I’m sure I mentioned it in part 2, but chubby lip pencils are like lip crayons to me. They make me ridiculously happy, and are so easy to use. Even this bright red that I would normally apply with lots of care is made simple with the chubby stick. This Chubby is also very hydrating, and the color lasts quite a long time. it’s my new go to red. I can apply it while I’m driving in my car without worry about messing up. I don’t do that with any other red.

Hourglass

Hourglass Femme Rouge Velvet Creme Lipstick in Icon

This Hourglass lipstick is another one of my November vacation lipsticks from Preen Apothecary. I know the name is Icon, but I’ve taken to calling it my Snow White lipstick. It’s really a beautiful cherry red color, and reminds me of the perfect color for Snow White. I love the way it feels on my lips. It’s so smooth and creamy, and although it’s a long-lasting lipstick, my lips never get dried out or chapped. I adore this red. It’s a high maintenance red, which means that if you smudge it at all, you’ll get high pigmented color just where you don’t want it. It’s one that I wear with caution. I don’t kiss my children when wearing this lipstick, or they will be sporting a huge red lip mark for hours. I usually wait to apply this one until after I’ve kissed my kids and husband goodbye.ย  That aside, I still love this lipstick. I will wear it until I have to dig it out with a lip brush, and then I’ll buy the refill. That’s the other thing I love about Hourglass lipsticks. Once you buy the full lipstick, you just have to purchase the color refill instead of getting an entire new tube of color.

I hope you enjoyed these bold colors. The full on reds are my favorites, but I’m glad I went through my stash to pull out so many other favorites. For someone like me who loves lipstick and any other type of lip product I can get my hands on, a series of lipstick reviews and lip color swatches were inevitable.

I do have a red lipstick video on my YouTube channel with (mostly) different options. Just in case you were looking for something you didn’t see here.

So let me know, are you a red lipstick wearer? Do you stay with softer, more nude shades? Did you discover a brand you want to try? Is there a lipstick I should know about that I haven’t mentioned? I’d love to hear from you. Let me know what you think.

Rebecca

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Lipsticks and Glosses Part 3: Reds

  1. The Clinique Chubby stick colour looks amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  2. luchessa says:

    The very first one is def my fav on you. I think you can totally pull off a coral color ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. luchessa says:

    Don’t know if you have noticed, but you’ve been featured ๐Ÿ˜‰
    http://luchessa.wordpress.com/2013/01/13/best-of-blog-posts-winter-edition/

Leave a Reply

