Lipsticks and Glosses – Part 1: Nudes

Happy New Year! Sorry I’ve been so absent from my blog. The holidays were busy for me, and health issues have been rearing their ugly heads. Let’s put all that behind us, and get down to the good stuff: lipstick!

As my blog name suggests, I love lipstick. Before I was allowed to wear lipstick at 14, I loved putting Chap Stick, Vaseline, and all sorts of little girl appropriate lip gloss on my lips. I had every sort. It’s the only thing I spent my allowance on. When I was 14, my mom took me to the Clinique counter and had the ladies in white coats help me choose make up colors. It was my first encounter with makeup of any type and I was hooked. That day I got my first real lipstick. It was a peachy nude lipstick that Clinique no longer makes. Sadly I don’t remember the name, but I wore it for 2 years. I re-purchased it several times. When I was sure my mother wasn’t going to die if I chose a darker color, I started branching out.

So in memory of that first lipstick I ever wore, I start this three-part lipstick review with just a few nudes from my collection.

Bite Beauty in Cava

Bite Beauty Creme Lipstick in Cava

I picked this lipstick up at Sephora in late November while on vacation. I asked the amazing Kevin who was helping me to suggest a lipstick to replace the Dior lipstick I was returning. I had ordered the Dior shade online, and hadn’t had a chance to try the color on. It was too pink for me in natural light, and I couldn’t let myself keep a $30 lipstick I would never use. Kevin immediate suggested a bright red, but I told him I had more than 12 shades of bright red, and was looking for something different. He suggested the new line of lipsticks from Bite Beauty. This shade in Cava has a bit of a lavender undertone, and is much lighter than my natural lip shade. I have to wear foundation on my lips when I wear this shade, but I love the look it gives me. All of the Bite Beauty shades I tried on were completely opaque. I loved that!

Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Bellini

Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss in Bellini

This is a drugstore pick I have been loving since I grabbed it in October. I haven’t been much of a gloss fan over the past decade, but I really like this one in Bellini. It’s not sticky, has a soft doe foot applicator, and has lots of product for the price. I might be willing to pick up a few more of these Revlon Colorburst Lip Glosses just to see how the other colors are. So far, the Revlon lip products are my top choice for drugstore lip products.

Lancome - L'Absolu Nu in Beige Tulle

Lancome – L’Absolu Nu in Beige Tulle

This Lancome lipstick is very hydrating, and very sheer. This photo has several swipes over the lips to make sure the color came though so you could really see it. I normally only swipe once or twice with Beige Tulle for sheer color and just that hint of shine. I love this nude color with the slight peach tone to it. It’s not too peachy, and has a bit of shimmer. Just enough to make my lips look pretty and alive.

Bite Beauty Lip Shine - Champagne Pearl

Bite Beauty Lip Shine – Champagne Pearl

This is another Bite Beauty product I picked up in November that Kevin steered me towards. It was as if he knew exactly what I was looking for. God bless Kevin at Sephora in Cincinnati! Love this color in Champagne Pearl. You can see that this gloss has more shimmer to it. I will say, I really don’t like the way it smells. That’s the only down side. I only notice it when I open the tube, I don’t notice it when it’s on my lips. (either it’s not that strong, or I get used to it) I like that it’s not too sticky. I can’t say it’s not sticky, because it is, but it’s not a major offender.

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense - Curviest Caramel

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense – Curviest Caramel

This is my newest addition to my nude lipstick collection. I got this just about 2 weeks ago, and I love it! I was picking up a last minute gift for a friend, and couldn’t pass up checking out the new Chubby Intense sticks from Clinique. If you’ve followed my blog in the past, you know I’m a sucker for the regular Chubbies, and when they came out with these Intense colors, I knew it was only a matter of time. I got another color as well, but that one will wait for Part 3 of this Lipstick series.

I think this neutral color in Curviest Caramel could be worn by many women. It’s a great “every day” color, and is so easy to apply. I’ve never had problems with the original Chubbies not lasting for at least 3-4 hours, but this new Intense Chubby will last even longer. I’m not a lip licker so most of my lip products last quite a while. Even though my morning coffee cup, and the afternoon water bottle. I like that this caramel color has a slight pink undertone so it’s easy to wear. It’s not one that will give your lips that dead look.

I’ve got more of these lip swatches to show you over the coming days. I hope they’re helpful, or if nothing else, at least entertaining. Let me know: do you wear more nude lip colors, or more bold lip colors. Do you have a favorite brand, or is your collection a free for all? I’d love to hear from you, let me know.

Always in search of the perfect lipstick!

Rebecca

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Lipsticks and Glosses – Part 1: Nudes

  1. They look really good on you

  2. Genevieve says:

    It’s funny, but my favorite by far is the revlon Bellini. Probably the cheapest, but such a great color for you!

    P.S. I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well 😦

    • Thanks Genevieve, it was the cheapest, but I used it in this review because it was one of my favorite nude shades. I have many more thane these 5, but only wanted to share my favorites.

      I am recovering nicely after my kidney stone attack, and my next Botox injection for my chronic migraines is in 15 days. I’m starting to think this year should be much better health wise than last year.

      Thanks for reading and commenting.

  3. Sienna says:

    They all look great but I think the I like the slight shine instead of the matte. Just wondering if you had tried the Kardashian nude set? Besides the odor it looked like I had eaten powdered donuts but I am darker than you just wondering how it looked on someone more fair skinned.

    • I haven’t tried the Kardashian nude set. Where did you get them/try them? I’ll have to check them out.

      I’m really more of a bold lip color girl myself. I love wearing red.

Leave a Reply

