Holiday Nails

I’ve been taking a break from polishing my nails. Does 10 days count as a break?  I finally promised myself that It was time to get back in the routine again.

I’m used to changing my polish 3 times a week, and my nails had been paying the toll. They were short, brittle and wouldn’t grow very long. I stopped buffing my nails at every manicure, and stopped using some base coats and top coats that weren’t 3 free. (Good-bye Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Hard As Wraps, and Seche Vite top coat.) I hope that will help. I also need to stop cleaning under my nails with an orange stick several times a day. I find that I get weak points at the edges of my nails where they start to tear.

I decided to take these pictures with the Christmas tree lights in the background. It was just too pretty to pass up. It was my attempt at making it feel more festive.

Essie Chinchilly and China Glaze Glistening Snow accent finger

Essie Chinchilly and China Glaze Glistening Snow accent finger

Essie Chinchilly and China Glaze Glistening Snow

Essie Chinchilly and China Glaze Glistening Snow

I wore a very similar look Wednesday until I changed my polish today. (I started wearing polish mid this week after a week and a half break) Here’s a look at it. It also includes a metallic micro glitter from the China Glaze Holiday 2012 Collection. This picture was taken with my phone, and not my Cannon Rebel T3.

OPI Don't Pretzel My Buttons and China Glaze Champagne Kisses accent finger

OPI Don’t Pretzel My Buttons and China Glaze Champagne Kisses accent finger

It might be time for some honest to goodness nail art. I might have to try my hand at a candy cane stripe, or a Christmas tree design. Maybe just an accent nail or two. I’ll just dangle my toe in the water and see how it goes. If it takes too much effort, I’ll never do it again. If it looks too busy, I’ll never do it again.

Happy Holidays!

What are you wearing on your nails these days? How are you keeping your nails long and strong? I’d love to know. Comment below if you have a moment.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Holiday Nails

  1. caroline1t says:

    I really love that Essie colour it’s perfect all year round, so great with the added glitter!
    xo

  2. Ohhh! So pretty! Think I need that gorgeous grey too! Just because you can wear it every single day of the year. Awesome 🙂

    • It is so wearable. I love this color. It was the first “non-traditional” nail color I purchased a year ago when I started painting my fingernails. Before Essie Chinchilly, I only had reds that I used for my toes. This was me dangling my toes in the water of chic, modern nail color. I haven’t looked back. I now have just over 100 bottles of color. I’m also following so many nail blogs I can hardly read them all. It’s my new obsession, er . . . I mean hobby. Thanks for checking out my little blog!

  3. Love those manis Rebecca!

    Also, a big fan of your ” If it takes too much effort, I’ll never do it again. If it looks too busy, I’ll never do it again.” – made me crack up! ❤

    • Thanks Shannon. As for the nail art, it’s true. I love it, but I usually only see 4 nails worth in a picture at a time.(you know, Pinterest or a nail blog) When I do see real nail art in person it’s usually a bit overwhelming to me with all 10 digits done up.

      Maybe it will take me another year to ease into nail art on all 10 fingers. I’ve only been polishing my fingers faithfully for the past 13 months. Maybe if I could do really good nail art, I would love it on all 10 fingers! (You should hear me laughing right now.)

      I might have to try your penguin mani. I loved it!

      • Yeah, I know what you mean. It’s only been about a year and a half to two years for me…where I’ve actually been painting my finger nails at all. And still, lots of times I just opt for a solid colour because it’s quick and easy. But it can certainly be fun to try new things I find. Definitely takes getting used to though. But rather than finding it overwhelming, I generally end up having it excite me and just scream FUN. I’m a dork though, so that could be it. LOL

Leave a Reply

