Racing Stripes

I’ve been attempting to create a green racing stripe on my nails for months now. This is the first time I’m willing to post any photos. They’re not perfect, but I am getting better.

I’ve been longing to create some perfect nail art. I know it’s not something that just happens,  but many hours are spent in practice. I’ve only been doing my nails regularly for 10 months, so I still have a lot to learn.

I used China Glaze Exotic Encounters from the Safari Collection as the green base. Sally Hansen Quick Color Nail Pen in black for the large stripe, and Sally Hansen Nail Art Pen in White for the small stripe. I sealed it all with a coat of Seche Vite.

I’ll try it again, but I hope it turns out even better next time. I free-handed the stripes, maybe next  time I’ll tape them. I haven’t had success with tape manicures yet, but that doesn’t mean that I’ll stop trying.

This manicure reminds me of this car.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Racing Stripes

  1. Cute Rebecca! I can’t do any lines free hand and hope for them to come out straight. I have to tape everything, but its worth it because I love the look of a perfect line. You said you didn’t have any luck with it in the past – what happened?

    • The tape leaves sticky residue, or removes the nail polish. One or the other. When I stick it to my skin first, then place it on my nail to make sure it’s not too sticky, it doesn’t give a good seal. I get color where I don’t want it. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. Do I need different tape? I’m using regular scotch tape.

Leave a Reply

