Oh MAC, Where Have You Been All My Life?

In the past 8 years, I’ve been living in a small town that only has 4 department store makeup counters. Lancome, Estee Lauder, Clinique, and Elizabeth Arden. If I want more than that, I have to drive an hour away for other brands like Origins, Bobbi Brown, Benefit, Chanel, Shu Umura, Philosophy, Bare Escentuals, and MAC. I have such a love of makeup that I’ve tried all the other brands. Well, all the other brands except for MAC.

MAC intimidated me. The people who worked at the MAC store were serious. They wore all black, and had their makeup brushes belted on like tools. I know brushes are tools, but I almost expected them to pull out a power drill from that tool belt. They were also so serious about the makeup. There were no smiles, it was all business. It didn’t seem at all frivolous. Maybe this is wrong of me, but I expect a little friendliness with my cosmetic assistance. I might just be my local MAC store.

Since starting this blog, I have come across so many people who are devoted to the MAC brand. (my friend Shannon of Eyemasq to name one)  After much debating, I finally made an appointment and drove an hour to visit my “local” MAC store. I had to see what everyone was talking about.

I discovered several things:

  • I had no reason to be intimidated.
  • The makeup is very reasonably priced as far as department store products go
  • There are more colors that I could have ever wanted
  • The brushes are amazing
  • The staff member who helped me was extremely knowledgeable
  • I got exactly what I asked for

I went into my appointment with a clean, moisturized face. I told the MAC lady helping me that I always wore a bold lip, and a neutral eye, but it was time to switch it up. I ended up with 5 different shadow colors on my eyes, and their gel eyeliner. Pop! Wow, I had never seen my eyes that way before. Add a pair of false eyelashes and they might have committed a crime.

I also ended up getting a pale pink lipstick. I don’t have many pink lipsticks in my collection. If I do have pink lipsticks, they’re fuchsia or dark peony, not this soft “Angel” that the MAC lady handed me to try on. I almost told her “I don’t think this will work”, but I trusted and put it on. It was perfect. I can’t believe I love a pale pink colored lipstick.

I walked away with 8 products from the MAC store. I also had a list of other items I might pick up on my next visit. The only thing I wasn’t pleased about was the MAC lady didn’t take the time to show me which eye shadow went where, or give me a written description of what color went where. I paid, was handed the bag, and shoved out the door. After spending 40 minutes with me, and taking $140 dollars from me, I didn’t even get a “Good-bye, come see us again!”

The verdict: I love the product. I’ll probably go back. I might just wait for my next big haul until I can visit another MAC store and see if the experience is different.

After visiting my local MAC counter

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Oh MAC, Where Have You Been All My Life?

  1. I’m so happy you posted this. The look is great!

    I’ve had mixed experiences with staff too, but I find it the same at Sephora. Sometimes you get someone that is super helpful and friendly and other times, it is almost like they don’t have time, or perhaps just don’t care about their job.

    But I’m glad you picked up some products. I’m looking forward to hearing how you feel about them long term. ❤

    • Everything wore really well except the Blacktrack Fluidline in my bottom water line. That got all runny and messy in about two hours. It was a hot day, but I was only going back and forth between the car. I didn’t sit in the sun and bake. I loved it on my upper lid. It was so smooth! I also picked up a liner brush. Over all I’m in love. Thanks for the MAC inspiration! You know it was you, right? 🙂

      • Hehe, I’m so glad!

        As for the fluidline on the waterline, I have the same problem, I’ve never been happy with it. Just like you said, amazing on the upper lid, god awful on the waterline. Sounds like overall though, you are happy camper. YAY!

Leave a Reply

