Shine On Part 2

In late May I ordered Benefit’s liquid highlighter High Beam. Here’s my previous post.

Benefit High Beam – liquid highlighter

I’ve been meaning to do another post to let you know what I thought about it. I’m sure you might have seen it around. I’ve been seeing it for years on Sephora’s website, but never thought I’d want a highlighter. (When I first saw it, I didn’t even know what to do with a highlighter.)

I’ll admit that my desire to find that perfect dewy look came from watching ABC’s Private Practice. I had never watched the show before, but I started watching it on Netflix this spring. I immediately became enamored with Kate Walsh’s makeup.

Kate Walsh at Dr. Addison Montgomery on Private Practice

She looked so effortless and beautiful. Not overdone at all. And her skin had this amazing glow to it. I thought it was just a good dermatologist and Creme de la Mer. Turns out she had a list of her 10 favorite cosmetic items on Sephora’s website.

Number 7 on her list is High Beam from Benefit. That’s all it took for me to place an order on Sephora. When it came, it took some time to figure out how to use it. There are some places on your face you don’t want highlighter. Check out this if you want to see where to apply highlighter.

I liked that the color was perfect for me. It had a perfect shimmer. Not glittery, not too shiny, just right to catch the light and make my skin look young and dewy. I didn’t like that High Beam dried really fast. I learned to blend quickly. I wish it came with a felt tip applicator instead of a brush. The brush is similar to what you’d find in a bottle of nail polish. It’s just a personal preference.

I think it’s worth the $26, and I’ll replace it when it runs out. Do you use a highlighter? What face product do you love and recommend? I’d love to hear from you.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

