Vacation Lipstick

Most people slim down their cosmetic bag when they go on vacation, I always end up cramming it full. I always imagine situations where I’d like to have more options than less, so I take 3 types of mascara instead of just one. This trip, I brought along mineral and liquid foundation, 11 shades of eyeshadow, 4 eye liners, 3 concealers and exactly 20 shades of lipstick.

I know you must be thinking I’m crazy, but I had to do it. I’m only gone for 10 days, and I’ve doubled that in lipsticks. Here’s why. First of all, I’m addicted to lipstick. Second of all, I love to layer the colors. I almost never wear one shade straight from the tube. It has to be a phenomenal lipstick for me to wear it solo. I normally will start with a darker shade, and then layer on a lighter or glossier shade over the top. Sometimes I’ll tone down a bright magenta, or a bright orange with the perfect red. Sometimes my sheer pink needs a little oomph of color, so I’ll mix in some peachy tones.

I’m always finding new combinations when I mix my lipstick colors. I love it.

In the past week I picked up 4 new shades that I’m loving. I’ve always been a huge fan of Clinique’s Chubby Stick, and they just recently came out with new shades. I really was wanting Oversized Orange, but my local counter was out of that shade. So I picked up Pudgy Peony instead.

Oversized Orange

Pudgy Peony

The Lipstick Gal in Clinique’s Pudgy Peony

I was still looking for an orange shade for summer, so I went to the drugstore. I picked up another Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Rendezvous.

Revlon Rendezvous

The Lipstick Gal in Revlon’s Rendezvous

It wasn’t the same shade as the Clinique Chubby, but it was similar. Somehow, I was back at the drugstore on Friday afternoon and I saw that the Revlon Lip Butter shades were on sale. These have been my absolute favorite drugstore lipsticks in the past several months. I’ll admit, I was a slow adopter, but I’m in love with these now. I picked up Red Velvet, and a Creme Brulee.

Revlon Lip Butter in Red Velvet

The Lipstick Gal in Revlon’s Red Velvet

Revlon Lip Butter in Creme Brulee

The Lipstick Gal in Revlon’s Creme Brulee

That brings my Revlon Lip Butter collection to 6 shades. Every one looks fantastic on, and I love that some have sparkle, and some are just a creme color. The ones that sparkle, don’t over sparkle and look like something an 8 to 12-year-old girl  would want to wear. It’s just enough sparkle, and not too much. I also adore the hydrating sensation that I get when putting them on. For being a drugstore lipstick, I’m in love. I recommend them to everyone who asks me about lipstick. You don’t get the price shock of the higher end lipsticks, but you still get a great product.

I’ve told myself that I’m not allowed to purchase any new lipsticks on this vacation. I can get anything else, but I really couldn’t possibly need anymore lip color. We’ll see if I can hold out.

What I’m hoping I end up getting time to do is stop in at a Sephora store. It’s been years since I’ve been to a Sephora store. My closest store is 4 hours away from my house. I do all of my shopping online. I’m coming up on my 10th anniversary, and I hope to be able to convince my husband that I need a shopping spree in Sephora as an anniversary present. The one thing I’m really looking forward to finding out more about is the Clarisonic.

What good is it to have lots of great makeup if your skin isn’t a great canvas? I’m going to see what all the hype is about and if it’s for me.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Vacation Lipstick

  1. All those colors look great on you!

Leave a Reply

