Some Things Never Change

Legstick For Legs
Members of the Radio City Rockettes modelling Legstick, makeup to replicate stockings designed to combat wartime shortages, circa 1942.  (Photo by FPG/Hulton Archive/Getty Images)

The picture of the Radio City Rockettes was taken during World War II when there was a shortage of stockings. From all the black and white WWII films I’ve watched over the years, I know there were many things that women were asked to give up. Lipstick was in short supply, hair pins could be hard to come by, but silk stockings were the hardest to get. Silk was used to make parachutes for the armed forces. Women gave up wearing stockings so the men serving in the military could have the silk for the war effort. That doesn’t mean that silk stocking weren’t a hot ticket item. They were actually rationed, and if  you could could afford them, you could also find them on the black market.

Grown women of that era didn’t leave the house without something covering their legs. That was, until war time. We women can be so creative when it comes to finding a solution to a fashion problem. Self tanning isn’t as recent a development as we’d like to think. Women were doing it back in the 40 during the stocking ration. They would use tea bags to stain their legs, or gravy browning as a fake tan. Finally, someone was smart enough to create makeup to be used on legs. All they needed was a steady hand in drawing a line up the back to fake a seam. Voila! Instant stockings!

All this may seem old fashioned and silly to us, but we still do the same thing. (expect for drawing seams up the back of our legs) I know very few women who leave the house without making sure they are shaved and lotioned up every day. Once summer hits, we start worrying about things like self-tanner and balms that will smooth and have light diffusing particles in them to make our legs look as perfect as possible. We never leave the house in bare legs either. We always have something on them too. Here are a few of my favorites.

Michael Kors Leg shine. This is where I remind you that I’m very fair. This give me just enough color and shine on my legs to make sure I don’t look like a plucked chicken. If you already have a tan, you won’t see much difference. It also smells like the Michael Kors scent, just lighter.

Michael Kors Leg Shine

Bathina ‘Take a Picture it Lasts Longer . . . ‘   I love Bathina! I’ve used this balm for years now. I love the way it smells, I love the way it hydrates, and I love the subtle shimmer you get from it. I use this on my legs during transition months. (October, November, March, April) Before I need to wear full on winter/summer garb. It’s also great all over your body.

Bathina Body and Leg Balm

Flash Bronzer Tinted Self-Tanning Leg Gel – I just got this on a whim because my Lancome Lady raved about it so much. She told me to cut it down with lotion before applying it to my legs to I didn’t get a really dark application. I like the look of it so much. Just enough color without looking super tan.

Lancome Flash Bronzer for Legs

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Some Things Never Change

  1. I got some of that Lancome flash bronzer in a GWP. I have yet to try it as I’m always worried about looking orange or streaky, but the idea of mixing it with lotion is genius. I usually use body butters though – I wonder how well that would mix? Any chance you’ve tried that?

    • No, I haven’t tried it with body butter, but if you mix it well, it should be the same. Just wash your hands well after application. I’m sure you knew that, but I had to say it just in case. Let me know how the body butter works. I’d rather use that than regular lotion.

Leave a Reply

