I’m a Sucker For a “Free” Gift

Lancome is currently in Gift at Macy’s. I learned what the phrase “In Gift” meant at an early age. My mom took me to the Clinique counter when I was 14-years-old, and let the lady in the white Clinique coat teach me all about eye liner, lipstick and concealer. They just happened to be in gift when I went, and I was delighted to not only get what my mother had planned on getting for me, but also some other fun skin care items and make up all in a cute cosmetic bag.

I try to make sure and save my Lancome purchases for when they are in gift. I admit it, I’m a Lancome devotee. All my skin care is Lancome. My favorite new lipsticks are by Lancome, and my Lancome Lady and I are on a first name basis. Cynthia (my Lancome lady) told me about the upcoming gift with purchase when I stopped in for more of the Cleansing Water I’m in love with. She set up a pre-sale for me. I paid for my items in advance, and she held them for me at the counter until the first day they were officially giving the gift with purchase. Then, all I had to do was pick up my already paid for items and gift at the Lancome counter.

Here’s what’s in it:

Lancome Gift With Purchase – Lip Color Swatches (left to right) Lipstick in Designer Bloom, Juicy Tubes in Moulin Rose, Juicy Tubes in Coral Rush
Eyeshadow quad colors – (top left to right) Off the Rack, Fashion Admirer, Little Blue Dress, Daylight – I used all four colors for the eye look

What I love about the Lancome Gifts now, is that they let you choose from several options. I went with small travel sizes of the Absolue face and eye cream, because it’s what I currently use. I chose the Body Cream instead of the Flash Bronzer, and the lipstick instead of the Juicy Tubes. I also decided on the eyeshadow quad because it’s not normally the sort of colors I would pick out for myself. I’m trying to stretch my comfort zone and not be afraid of blues and pinks. I’m really pleased I did, because the colors are so pretty. I got many compliments on them today.

You might be wondering what I plunked my hard-earned money down on to get the gift? I got another Rouge in Love lipstick, this time in Rouge Valentine. It’s a beautiful red with pretty blue undertones. It’s very much a 1940’s red. I love it. I also picked up their oil based eye makeup remover. I just started using it again because I just started wearing so much more eye makeup.

Yes, I’m a Lancome sucker. I’m sure my Lancome Lady Cynthia gets a huge smile on her face every time she sees me walk through the doors of my local Macy’s. I love you Cynthia! I’m not sure my pocketbook does, but I sure do!

P.S. I had one of everything they were giving away in the gift already except for the tote bag, body cream and the color quad. I had every lip color, every eye and face cream, and every eye essential. I suppose I need to lay off on the Lancome for a while. If that’s possible.

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “I’m a Sucker For a “Free” Gift

  1. After reading this blog I came to know more about the Lancome Gifts.
    Thanks for sharing.

    • What’s great about any cosmetic company when they are in gift is that they give you a chance to try some of the products you might not buy for yourself. With Lancome, I would buy the makeup, but fell in love with the face products when they were in gift. It started with the face cream and now I have everything. I think that’s why they do it.

  2. I am such a huge sucker for gift with purchases. I’m not curious if we have a Lancome one going on in Canada too, or if we will soon. I am going to have to keep an eye out. The products look great!!

    • I can’t help myself. I finally stopped getting products from Estee Lauder and Elizabeth Arden just because of the gifts, but Clinique and Lancome are what I wear lots of. It’s more lip color with Clinique. I’m addicted to their Chubbys, Almost Lipsticks, and their Butter Shines.

      • I always get the Clinique GWP’s. So much so that, I now have each step of their 3 step skin care program…..lol

      • I keep the yellow face lotion in my purse for my hands. I also make my husband wear it in the winter when he gets really dry. That’s the only way I use it all up. I have so much of that stuff.

Leave a Reply

