Evening Drama

I dream about getting dressed up for a black tie event. I love the idea of finding the perfect accessories, and then the dress to go along with it. I know that sounds backwards, but I’ve always done it that way. I’ll fall in love with a pair of shoes, or a handbag and need to find an outfit to go along with it. Now that I’m older, I find jewelry that I love, and have to find something to pair it with.

The same is true for this pairing. I fell in love with the Alexander McQueen bag and heels, then I started to build and outfit to go along with it. I can’t afford it, but I love the way it looks together. It’s total inspiration. Elegant and edgy. Hard, with touches of femininity. Everything I would want if I had an occasion to step out for a black tie event. Just enough, but not too much.

With the accessories speaking so loudly, I’d keep the makeup soft and light. Very youthful and dewy. I love the nude tone of the Deborah Lippmann nail polish and the Dior Addict lipstick.

I also love that with the exception of the cosmetics, the accessories cost more than the dress. That is so like me. I have expensive taste. I can never afford what I really love.

Evening Drama

Catherine Malandrino evening maxi dress
$795 – bloomingdales.com

Alexander McQueen strappy high heels
$865 – alexandermcqueen.com

Alexander mcqueen handbag
$2,295 – alexandermcqueen.com

Kara by Kara Ross white jewelry
$1,740 – bergdorfgoodman.com

John Hardy glitter jewelry
$3,495 – bloomingdales.com

Deborah lippmann nail polish
$16 – barneys.com

Beauty product
$30 – neimanmarcus.com

I’ve never had the opportunity to dress up for a black tie event. Maybe that’s a good thing, because I would spend way too much money. I would want to be the best dressed woman in the room. I know that being the best dressed woman doesn’t mean spending the most, but having the best style. But I also know that my style is expensive.

I suppose it’s okay to dream. I don’t see myself at a black tie even anytime soon, but I can keep up to date on the style trends so I’m ready when I do have to attend one.

Dream on my friends. If your dreams are like mine, there is no accessories budget in them.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

