Mommy Zombie Went to Work Yesterday

I was so late getting ready for work yesterday that I only had time to take a shower, slap on some deodorant, brush my teeth and braid my hair. I managed to leave the house wearing the same pants from the previous day. It wasn’t until I made it to my office that I noticed the stain on them. Oops. By that time, it was too late.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but I’m a radio DJ. No one sees me, I’m in the studio for 15 hours a week total, and most of the time I’m there, the rest of the staff are out at lunch. So when I say no one sees me, I mean literally no one. There is no web cam in the studio. My boss is almost always on the phone or in a meeting. The rest of the staff are so busy, they hardly ever notice me walk in. I tell you this just so you can understand how I’ve let myself be emboldened enough to walk into the office in pig tail braids. I’m a 37-year-old woman sporting a hairstyle that a child should be wearing. I’ve come to work in my fuzzy UGG slippers before on accident, and didn’t worry too much about it.

I managed to go to work yesterday not only in pig tail Dutch braids, but without make up. I’ve spent over $200 recently on new cosmetics, and I went bare-faced to work. Now that I look at it that way, I’m not sure what I was thinking.

When I got to work, one of my co-workers stopped me to ask for fashion and  cosmetic advice for her teenage daughter who was going to a school formal. She asked me about manicure options. What sort of hair style would I suggest. What type of makeup would look best on her daughter.

I gave her a few suggestions, and headed back into my “box of solitude” aka the studio. Right before I left a few hours later, she asked if she could bring her 17-year-old daughter in for a little beauty advice. “Sure, no problem.” I said. All I could think of was “How is any teenage girl in her right mind going to take fashion advice from me, looking like this?”

After asking about her dress, and personal sense of style, I made a few suggestions. I told her what to stay away from, and what to make sure her nail tech and hair stylist didn’t do that might ruin the over all effect of effortless beauty that is so easy for a 17-year-old to attain.

This morning when I made it into work, her mom showed me pictures of her daughter all dressed up in formal wear. She was so beautiful. Long black elegant dress with a low back, black nail polish with a very high shine top coat. She also convinced her hair stylist to skip the pageant updo, and go with something a bit more casual and less perfect. Her skin is perfection. The way a young teenage girl’s skin should be. She hardly needed any makeup.  The picture was incredible. With her date, looked like a princess in a fairy tale. She took every word of my advice and look amazing.

Her mom told me a funny story today. On the way out to their car yesterday after hearing my opinion, her daughter said “I never expected her to know so much about makeup and fashion. Especially the way she does her hair and makeup.”

Touche you young beautiful thing you, touche.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Mommy Zombie Went to Work Yesterday

  1. Bless her little teenage heart. Yeah, why would us ancient hags know anything about make-up and fashion? 🙂

Leave a Reply

