When Is Too Many, Too Many?

The longer and longer I continue to blog, the more and more I realize I have many collections. I have a lipstick collection. I have a nail polish collection. I have a shoe collection. I have a handbag collection. I have cosmetic sample collection. I’m not even going to go into what collections I have outside my closet and bathroom. This could quickly become a long drawn out confession.

I was picking up my earrings this evening and putting them away when I realized that I have quite an earring collection. I don’t know what prompted me to do it, but I pulled out all of the earrings I made myself, and took pictures. I have 26 pair of earrings I’ve made. That may not be a lot, but that’s only 1/3 of my total collection. Here are  pictures of my 9 favorite pair of homemade earrings.

The funny thing is that I didn’t get my ears pierced until I was 31. It’s only been 6 years, and in that time, I’ve accrued way more than I can wear. I’ve actually gone through my collection several times and sold some at garage sales, or donated them to Goodwill. I know I can’t keep everything, but with close to 80 pair, I still feel I have too many.

In my opinion, jewelry is on of the best accessories ever. You can do so much with it, and it says so much about you. You also don’t have to be tied down to a certain style when it comes to jewelry. I have a little of everything in my collection. I wouldn’t see myself as a preppy girl, but I do have some  preppy jewelry. I’m not very bohemian, but I do have some boho jewelry in my box. Even though I LOVE hand-made jewelry, I do have some cool, cheap Target earrings. I think the more you say “That’s not for me” the more likely you are to limit yourself, and your jewelry box.

Here are some rules I’ve learned.

1. Don’t buy it if you don’t LOVE it. – I don’t care if it’s on sale, or if it’s similar to the one you really like, but can’t afford right now. You won’t wear what you don’t love.

2. They don’t have to be expensive to be fantastic. – One of my favorite pairs were $4 from Target. They look super expensive, and would fit in perfectly on the set of the Tudors. Very Renaissance, and very elegant.

3. Branch out. – If you always wear drop earrings, get a pair of hoops. If you’re a hoops girl, find some pretty studs. If you’re always wearing small and dainty earrings, go for something daring. It’s no fun to have a jewelry box full of the same type of earrings

4. Try something unexpected. – A color, a size, a style. I really like elegant earrings, but I keep seeing they crazy fun earrings by Betsey Johnson and I keep going back for another look. Chances are I’ll end up with a pair. They’re nothing like what I already have, but I love the whimsy in them.

5. Know what looks good on you. – If you look best in gold metals, don’t buy silver. And vice versa. Also know what works best on your body type.  I’m a big girl. I know that I look best in eye-catching jewelry. Most of my earrings are large on purpose.  If I wear small earrings, I wear a large bracelet/cuff or a statement necklace. If you’re petite, don’t weigh yourself down with huge baubles.

6. Remember that fashion jewelry isn’t forever. – So go through your jewelry box, and thin it out. If you don’t wear it any more, get rid of it. You can have a jewelry swap with your girlfriends. You could have a yard sale. You could always try to resell it on Ebay. If you really just want to get it off your hands, you could just donate it to Goodwill.

Obviously it’s time for me to pare down my earring collection. Chances are, after I make more room, I’ll just fill it up again. What about you? Are you going to pare down, or go shopping for more?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

