Beauty Supply Run

I don’t know how I managed to miss it, but there is a beauty supply store less than a mile from my house. I drive past it several times a day on my way to and from work, to and from the grocery store, to and from just about anywhere I want to go in town. On my way home from work on Friday, I pulled in and decided to check the place out. I felt like I walked into nail heaven. I swear I could hear the angels singing as I walked in. Really.

Might I just say, that reading other amazing nail blogs on WordPress like Polish You Pretty have really made me start aspiring to new nail heights. As I walked in to my beauty supply story, I was armed with a list of thing to look for. There were basic tools on my “need” list that quickly got added to my shopping basket so I could start trying some simple nail art at home. First, I picked up a few new China Glaze colors. Liquid Leather (black) Peachy Keen (coral peach) and two of the colors from the Capitol Colors collection. I picked up Hook and Line ( silvery grey) and Argo (sparkly moss green). I also got Seche Vite top coat. Every nail blog I read raves about it, so I thought I’d give it a try.

As I walked the nail aisle, I was tempted to buy so many things. I did walk away with a $5 sable brush. I’ll admit it, I don’t have the steadiest of hands when polishing my nails. I inevitably get polish on my skin or cuticles. I finally figured out the trick of using a sable brush dipped in acetone to clean up the excess polish.

$5 Sable Brush with Acetone

I used to use a manicure pen, but after a few uses with dark polish, it stopped working well. It also lost its sharp chisel point, and got gunked up.

Manicure Pen

I also got lots of stuff on the “Basics” page from Polish You Pretty‘s blog. I have a glass nail file, cuticle butter, and a dotting tool with a fine brush tip. I still have to find the time to do the nail art, but I now have the tools to try. Time is harder to come by that it used to be, with two toddlers and my parent’s visiting for a few weeks.

I also need to make sure and say a huge thank you to my friend Freya from Furnished Souls. If she didn’t share her love of nail polish with me, and remind me that polish wasn’t just for toes, I wouldn’t be blogging about this today. I have 6 times the nail polish I did in November and I blame/thank Freya!

Here’s my China Glaze Peachy Keen just waiting for some nail art.

China Glaze Peachy Keen

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

