Out With the Old

I admit it, I’m a creature of habit. I have a set routine that I follow every day. Get up, dress the kids, make breakfast. While the kids eat, I take a shower. After breakfast I put on a video for them and while they watch “Bob the Builder” or “Blue’s Clues” on Netflix, I clean the kitchen or do laundry. Just about 20 minutes before I’m supposed to leave for work, I realize that I’m still padding around in my robe.

This is where I start scolding myself. If I had gotten up earlier, I could have done my hair. If I hadn’t eaten breakfast, I could have time to put on make up. If I hurry now, I might be dressed before the babysitter shows up. This is what my weekday mornings are like. Every. Single. Morning.

If you were to look in my cosmetic bag, you’d be reminded that I’m a creature of habit. I have countless neutral eye shadows. I own nine shades of red lipstick, and I can’t find a single eye liner that isn’t brown. I learned early on what colors looked best on me, and have never strayed. I’ve played it safe with make up for the past fifteen years.

I remember when cosmetics were for playing. I used to see my make up bag as the grown up equivalent of a crayon box. Pick any color, and have fun. No color was scary. I just had to know where and how to use it. In the past fifteen years, I’ve thrown out so many colors. I used to have the big box of 64 crayons, I’ve parred it down to the small box of 8.

I’m changing that. I’ve decided that it’s time to restock my cosmetic bag with color. I’m officially out of my comfort zone, but I like it. I’m trying out the tangerine lip that’s big this spring. With a little help from my local Lancome lady, I am now the proud owner of Rouge in Love “Miss Coquelicot”. It’s a lovely saturated tangerine hue that has staying power. I’m going to pair it with a fresh face, neutral shadow, black eye liner and baby doll eye lashes. Just enough in the eyes to balance the lip, but not to overwhelm it.

Lancome Rouge in Love “Miss Coquelicot”  146

http://www.lancome-usa.com/Rouge-In-Love/100021,default,pd.html

It’s time to break out of our beauty ruts. Try something new this month. Whoever said eight crayons was enough never saw the big box.

Rebecca

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

